About Ace
Faculty & Staff
Board of Directors
Career Opportunities
Contact Us


Board of Directors

Laura Dinkel, Apple Inc.
R. Scott Evans, Ph.D., R&D Business Development, Correlated Magnetics Research, LLC
Adam Flagg, Upstream Investment Partners
Ross Garsson, Attorney, Greenberg Traurig, LLP
Donna Hulsey, Head of School, ACE Academy
Peggy A. Kruger, Ph.D., Educational Administrator & Consultant
Karen Langdon, Director of Admissions. ACE Academy; Executive Director, Summer Wonders
Keith Moe, Business Consultant & Advisor
Danny Mulligan, Technology Executive and Entrepreneur
Hatice O'Leary, IT Consultant
Estuardo Robles, Development director, International Entrepreneur
Larry Secrest, Ph.D., IC2 Businessman, Consultant


Advisory Board

Bill Broussard


Lee Cooke

Businessman, Former Mayor of Austin

Marty Dryk, Ph.D.

Consultant, author, and editor for gifted children

Barbara Hutton, MBA

Founder and Director, Rocky Mountain School for the Gifted and Creative

Joyce Juntune, Ph.D.

Education Director of the Institute for Applied Creativity in the Dept. of Educational Psychology at Texas A&M University at College Station. She has served as the Executive Director of both the American Creativity Association and the National Association for Gifted Children.

Elizabeth Mechstroth, M.Ed

Counselor of gifted children, their parents, and educators. Specialist on highly gifted children. She is a former president of the Atlantic Association for Gifted Children and Adults and has co-authored several books, including Guiding the Gifted Child.

Dianna Pharr

An Austin, Texas native and founding board member of Austin Gifted. She works as an educational consultant and advocate for children with special educational needs including those who are gifted. Dianna served as assistant director of Summer Wonders and participates in Davidson Young Scholar seminars and events with other parents of profoundly gifted children. She is also a member of the Texas Organization of Parents, Attorneys and Advocates (TOPAA) and volunteers as a Guardian ad Litem for CASA of Travis County. She holds a B.A. from the University of Texas at Austin.

Linda Silverman, Ph.D.

Director of the Institute for the Study of Advanced Development, and its subsidiary, the Gifted Development Center, in Denver, Colorado. Over 5,000 children have been assessed at the Center since 1979. She is co-chair of the National Association for Gifted Children (NAGC) Task Force on Assessment. Her Ph.D. is in educational psychology and special education from the University of Southern California. For nine years, she served on the faculty of the University of Denver in counseling psychology and gifted education. Her textbook, Counseling the Gifted and Talented (Love: 1993), has been adopted at more than 50 colleges and universities.

Joan Smutny, M.A.

Founder and director of the Center for Gifted at National-Louis University and a winner of the NAGC Distinguished Service Award for outstanding contribution to the field of education. She directs programs for gifted children and teaches courses on gifted education for graduate students. She has authored several books on gifted children.

Tracy Weinberg

Associate director of the Texas Association for the Gifted and Talented

Ann Wink

Director of elementary gifted education in the Division of Advanced Academic Services for the Texas Education Agency (TEA). Wink has more than 25 years experience working in the field of gifted education. She has served as a teacher of the gifted, a gifted program coordinator, and associate director of the Texas Association for the Gifted and Talented.

Joan Witham, Ph.D.

Retired Education Professor, Texas State University. Director of Program for High Ability Students, Texas State University.

Dorothy Sisk, Ph.D.

Director, Gifted Education & Creative Services, Lamar University